Underground Cinema Awards

#IrishFilm: Nominees announced for 7th Underground Cinema Awards

Last night, August 17th, Underground Cinema announced the nominations for the 7th Underground Cinema Awards, their annual awards ceremony that celebrates the best in Irish independent short filmmaking.

Mike Foott’s The Donor leads the nominations with 12, followed by Ivan McMahon’s All Washed Up with 8,¬†John Sheridan and Paul Valentine‘s JFK The Badgeman Conspiracy with 7,¬†Vincent Gallagher’s Love is a Sting,¬†Anthony Breatnach’s Cuts, and¬†Paddy Slattery’s Sojourn with 6, and¬†Karl Argue’s The Anti Love Pill,¬†Margaret Miller’s Descend, and¬†Mike Hayes’ Leave with 5 each.

Every month Underground Cinema screens an incredible selection of Irish and international short films in Dun Laoghaire, Co. Dublin, offering lesser known Irish and international filmmakers a chance to see their work come to life on the silver screen. Each film that is screened becomes eligible for the annual awards ceremony.

The Underground Cinema Awards will take place in the Royal Marine Hotel in Dun Laoghaire later this year.

Full list

Best Comedy
Descend – Margaret Miller
Even Droids Have Friends – Sorcha Furlong and Caroline Grace-Cassidy
The Anti Love Pill – Karl Argue
The Donor – Mike Foott
A Man Walks into a Bar – David McCarton

Best Documentary
Fallen Bird – Nathan Fagan and Deirdre Mullins
The Climb – Kilimanjaro – Eimear O’Grady
Bearing All – Garret Daly
Roll Camera – Alannah Murray
Bog Meditation – Glenda Cimino

Best Music Video
Nothing But Love – James Fitzgerald
Strange Longings РPätríck Mǚrphy
I Am Niamh – Aidan Duffy
Cant Drink the Water – James Fitzgerald
Hive Mind – Shannon Moncrief

Best Makeup
The Pigman – Tony Campbell and Natalie Greer
The Closet – Emma Woods
All Washed Up РSuzanne Ní Dholáin
Ordinary People – Shauna Foley, Stevie Lennox, Katie O’Brien, Mary Loughrey, Lisa Thompson and Ciara O’Donnell
The Donor – Deborah Flanagan

Best Costume
Cuts – Marie Tierney
Made Ordinary – Olwyn Colgan
All Washed Up – Aisling Wallace Byrne
Sojourn – Maria Larkin and Sarah Floey
Even Droids Have Friends – Helen McCusker

Best Production Design
Cuts – Barry Keogh
Love is a Sting – Jessica Timlin
Sojourn – Claire Corrigan
All Washed Up – Tracey O’Hanlon
Descend – Colette Hempenstall

Best Sound
Sojourn – Emmet Brewer
All Washed Up – Keith Grainger
Cuts – Niall Creavin
Love is a Sting – Eoghan McDonnell
The Donor – Neill Doyle, Darren Fitzgerald and Sergio Lobato

Best Score
Cuts – Denis Clohesey
The Donor – Andi Koglot
The Anti Love PIll – Malcolm Funktion
Sojourn – Dave McCune
All Washed Up – Tom Newman

Best Cinematographer
JFK The Badgeman Conspiracy – Burschi Wojnar
The Donor – Jaroslava Kostkova
Love is a Sting – Evan Barry, Dave King and Greg McGuinness
All Washed Up – Mark Byrne
Sojourn – Gerard Walsh

Best Editor
Ordinary People – Phil Roynanne
The Anti Love Pill – Paul Schwer
Sojourn – Gerard Walsh
Descend – Heidi Rose
Descend – Martha Meyler

Best Screenplay
Leave – Gerard Hayes
JFK The Badgeman Conspiracy – John Sheridan
The Donor – Mike Foott
Love is a Sting – Benjamin Cleary
All Washed Up – Keith Bogue

Rising Star Award
Martin Quirke – Only When Its Dark
Eamonn Curley – Tank
Charlo Johnson – Positive Discrimination
Sophia Tamburrini – Rachael Coming Home
Rik Gordon – The Pigman

Best Supporting Actress
Majella Keane – The Donor
Michelle Costello – Made Ordinary
Kathleen Bridget Murphy – The Pigman
Patricia Fitzpatrick – Six Pack and Crack
Tara Power – The Anti Love Pill

Best Supporting Actor
Pat McKnight – The Closet
Tommy O Neill – JFK The Badgeman Conspiracy
Ryan McParland – Hunters Fall
Michael Bates – The Donor
Eddie Jackson – The Spark

Best Actress
Clelia Murphy – JFK The Badgeman Conspiracy
Andrea Coyne – Six Pack and Crack
Margaret Miller – Descend
Rachael – The Donor
Kathy Rose O’Brien – Leave

Best Actor
Nick Dunning – JFK The Badgeman Conspiracy
Maurice Dunford – Leave
Jon Kenny – All Washed Up
Damien Devaney – The Donor
Karl Argue – The Anti Love PIll

Best Director
John Sheridan and Paul Valentine – JFK The Badgeman Conspiracy
Mike Foott – The Donor
Anthony Breatnach – Cuts
Vincent Gallagher – Love is a Sting
Mike Hayes – Leave

Best Film
JFK The Badgeman Conspiracy – Darren Mahon, Paul Valentine and Lucina Russell
Leave – Laura McNicholls
Love is a Sting – Ian Hunt Duffy
Cuts – Rob Kelly and Anthony Breatnach
The Donor – Mike Foott

More Stories
27th GAZE International LGBT Film Festival
A look at the Irish short films playing the 27th GAZE International LGBT Film Festival