Underground Cinema Awards

Irish Film: Underground Cinema announces 2015 Short Film award nominees

Last night, September 2nd, Underground Cinema officially unveiled its programme for the 6th Underground Ground Cinema Film Festival (covered on Scannain). Additionally they announced the nominations for the 2015 Underground Cinema Awards, their annual awards ceremony that celebrates the best in Irish independent short filmmaking.

Every month Underground Cinema screens an incredible selection of Irish and international short films in Dun Laoghaire, Co. Dublin, offering lesser known Irish and international filmmakers a chance to see their work come to life on the silver screen. Each film that is screened becomes eligible for the annual awards ceremony. New categories have been added for Best Supporting Actor and Best Supporting Actress, bringing the total up to 16 categories.

Leading the nominations is Stuart Graham’s brilliant dark-comedy The Good Word with 9, including Best Film, Best Director, Best Actor, and Best Actress. It is closely followed by Ruaidhri Conroy’s compelling drama Justlikeabitch, and Gerard Walsh’s engaging drama Solitaire with 8 each. Directorial debutants Tristan Heanue and Damien Byrne scored 6 and 5 nominations respectively with Today and The Nymph.

The Underground Cinema Awards will take place in the Royal Marine Hotel in Dun Laoghaire on Saturday November 7th at 8pm. Tickets are priced at €65 and include 4 course dinner, the awards ceremony and after show party.

Best Film

Deadly – Producer: Shannon George
The Good Word – Producer: Paul Kennedy
Justlikeabitch – Producer: Ruaidhri Conroy
Solitaire – Producer: Paddy Slattery and Gerard Walsh
Today – Producer: Paddy Slattery

Best Director
Ruaidhri Conroy – Justlikeabitch
Stuart Graham – The Good Word
Tristan Heanue – Today
Aidan McAteer – Deadly
Gerard Walsh – Solitaire

Best Actor
Brendan Conroy – Justlikeabitch
Paul Kennedy – The Good Word
Paul Quinn – Dogtag
Lalor Roddy – Today
Shane Robinson – The Seal

Best Actress
Barbara Adair – Park Life
√öna Kavanagh – The Good Word
Emilie Jane Lavery – Dogtag
Sarah Jane Lynch – Solitaire
Susan Loughnane – Nocturne Passage

Best Supporting Actor
Owen Barton – The Seal
George Bracebridge – Oblivious
Philip Dillon – The Seal
Conleth Hill – The Good Word
Seamus Moran – The Hunt

Best Supporting Actress
Andie McCaffrey Byrne – Solitaire
Neili Conroy – Justlikeabitch
Hilary Cotter – Testimony
Saoirse Doyle – Oblivious
Roisin O’Neill – Just Leonard

Best Screenplay
Ruaidhri Conroy – Justlikeabitch
Kamila Dydyna – Testimony
Tristan Heanue – Today
Aidan McAteer – Deadly
Stuart Neville – The Good Word

Best Cinematographer
Basil Al-Rawi – In Ribbons
Eimear Ennis Graham – Today
Eamonn Murphy – I’ve Been a Sweeper
John Redmond – Solitaire
Burschi Wojnar – The Nymph

Best Costume Design
Damian Byrne – The Nymph
Gwen Jeffared Byrne Gascon – Testimony
Maggie Donnelly – The Good Word
Ken Lang and Belle Phibbs – Justlikeabitch

Best Editor
Graham Cantwell – Nocturne Passage
Amy Kirwan and Trace Raine – An Bean Sidhe
Patrick McKnight – The Seal
Brian O’Connor – Sineater
Gerard Walsh – Solitaire

Best Makeup
Martina Julianna Byrne Gascon – Justlikeabitch
Brendan McCallion – A Soldiers Voice
Cara Mundy – An Bean Sidhe
Eoghan √ì’H√©igeartaigh – Robbie the Rabbit
Nicki Polyakova – The Nymph

Best Production Design
Damian Byrne – The Nymph
Robert Clarke – I’ve Been a Sweeper
Robin McCarton – Robbie the Rabbit
Ciara O’Donovan – The Good Word
Grace O’Hara – An Cat

Best Score
Neil Dunne and David Munro – Deadly
Jason Fernandez – Sineater
Frank Ilfman – Arabella
Pat O’Connor – Solitaire
Romain Trouillet – Dogtag

Best Sound Design
Leon Henry – Solitaire
Paul Lynch – Justlikeabitch
Nikki Moss – Today
Chris Muldoon – The Good Word
PJ Rankin – An Bean Sidhe

Best Comedy
GunDown – Director: Martin Cassidy and Nigel O’Brien
Contractors – Director: Stephen Dunne
Just Leonard – Director: Brian Dunster
The Caller – Director: Steve Gunn
Park Life – Director: Jason Shalloe

Best Music Video
The Optimist – Director: Jason Foran
Is It True – Director: Glenn McMahon
Make Out – Director: Shannon Moncrief
Yesterdays News – Director: Patrick Murphy

Rising Star Award
Damian Byrne – The Nymph
Kamila Dydyna – Testimony
Stephen Gafney – Oblivious
Steve Gunn – The Caller
Craig Moore – Any Last Words

More Stories
Irish Abroad: Five Irish short films have been selected for Tahiti festival