Irish Film: Underground Cinema announces 2015 Short Film award winners

On Saturday evening, November 7th, the winners of the 2015 Underground Cinema Awards were announced in a glamourous ceremony at the Royal Marine Hotel, Dun Laoghaire.

16 awards were handed out on the night, with Stuart Graham’s brilliant dark-comedy The Good Word the big winner, taking home 4 awards, including Best Film, Best Director for Graham, Best Actor for Paul Kennedy, and Best Actress for Una Kavanagh. Ruaidhri Conroy’s compelling drama Justlikeabitch turned 8 nominations into 3 wins, with Conroy winning Best Screenplay, Marty Byrne winning Best Make-Up, and Paul Lynch rewarded for Best Sound Design.

The Seal and The Nymph both picked up two awards, with the former winning Best Editor for Patrick McKnight and Best Supporting Actor for Eoin Barton. The Nymph saw writer/director Damien Byrne bestowed with Best Production Design and Best Costume Design.

Best Cinematographer went to Eimear Ennis Graham for her sterling work on Tristan Heanue’s directorial debut Today, while Best Supporting Actress went to the always excellent Andie McCaffrey Byrne in Gerard Walsh’s Solitaire. Jason Shalloe’s Park Life won Best Comedy, with Neil Byrne and David Munro picking up Best Score for their work on Deadly. The Rising Star Award was won by Steve Gunn for his¬†directorial debut The Caller.

Every month Underground Cinema screens an incredible selection of Irish and international short films in Dun Laoghaire, Co. Dublin, offering lesser known Irish and international filmmakers a chance to see their work come to life on the silver screen. Each film that is screened becomes eligible for the annual awards ceremony. New categories were added for the 2015 ceremony for Best Supporting Actor and Best Supporting Actress.

Best Film: The Good Word
Best Director: Stuart Graham – The Good Word
Best Actor: Paul Kennedy – The Good Word
Best Actresss: Una Kavanagh – The Good Word
Best Screenplay: Ruaidhri Conroy – Justlikeabitch
Best Cinematographer: Eimear Ennis Graham – Today
Best Editor: Patrick McKnight – The Seal
Best Supporting Actor: Eoin Barton – The Seal
Best Supporting Actress: Andie McCaffrey Byrne – Solitaire
Best Production Design: Damian Byrne – The Nymph
Best Make Up: Marty Byrne – Justlikeabitch
Best Sound Design: Paul Lynch – Justlikeabitch
Best Costume Design: Damian Byrne – The Nymph
Best Music Video: Yesterdays News – Patrick Murphy
Best Comedy: Park LIfe – Jason Shalloe
Best Score: Neil Byrne and David Munro – Deadly
Rising Star Award: Steve Gunn – The Caller

More Stories
Shorts at the Fleadh – New Irish Shorts 1